Author Topic: Ford 8.8  (Read 5700 times)

Offline JSchwinn

• Trail Queen
Ford 8.8
« on: February 09, 2015, 11:00:12 PM »
Hey guys I'm currently trying to plan out an 8.8 swap into my YJ and am hoping to get some input/direction on what to look for.  My plan is to find an 8.8 with disk brakes and 4.10 gears, in addition I will grab a Dana 30 from a 4banger and swap that upfront so I don't have to re-gear.  I guess my question is what 8.8 have you guys used? where did you find it? and will anyone be able to help me out with the build seeing as I do not have a welder and am a complete novice when it comes to axles.  I am in no rush but would like to try and get the swap done before summer.  Will provide beer and pizza when the time come to do the swap.  Thanks in advance.
1993 YJ - I6 - 4" RC Lift - 8k Winch - 33's

Offline Big Chuck

• President
  • Trail Master
Re: Ford 8.8
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 02:47:39 AM »
Hey there, I am in the process of doing the same. I do have a 4.10 dana 30 for the swap and I am hoping to pick up the 8.8 4.10 LSD this weekend, as long he dug it out of the snow by then. Do you have an SYE and CV driveshaft yet? So you need a diff from a 95-01 explorer. They make kits for the "hardware", ruff stuff, M.O.R.E., advance adapters. Rock has done the swap and wheels his rig HARD, and the YJ just takes it running 36 inch tires. I do know there was a guy on a Facebook post selling a 4.10 rear for $300. I'll check  if he still has it.
Chuck
Tube chassis, 5.3LS, Ford Dana 60 Chevy 14 Bolt 5.13 gears. 203/205 doubler, Hydro steering, air shocks, 42 inch Iroks on 16.5 H1 double bead locks.

Offline JSchwinn

• Trail Queen
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2015, 12:45:44 PM »