Author Topic: Replacing rear pinion seal...  (Read 1563 times)

Offline submrnman

• Trail Queen
Replacing rear pinion seal...
« on: October 22, 2011, 06:24:24 PM »
The rear pinion seal in me rear diff has just developed a slow leak... The new pinion seal and diff gasket just came in the mail the other day.n I have never done a pinion seal replacement, I know the basics of it though.  Has anyone ever replaced a pinion seal?  If so, any guidance you can offer would be much appreciated....

Offline BlacXJeep

• Honorary Member
  • Trail Master
    • My Webshots
Re: Replacing rear pinion seal...
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2011, 08:49:30 PM »
I'm not an expert by any means, but it would be helpful to know what real axle you are running.
Andy Doucette - A.K.A.(Douce)
W.O.J.

Offline submrnman

• Trail Queen
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2011, 09:05:40 PM »
Oh sorry.  I'm running a Dana 35 in the rear.

Offline skibum

• Paid Members
  • Trail Master
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2011, 01:32:25 AM »
Changing a pinion seal is very easy. There is just one very important thing to know first before anything is disasembled. It is very important to put a referance mark on the pinion nut & shaft so when retighening the marks they are lined up to make sure the crush collar is not over tighened & not change the pinoin bearing preload. Hope this helps you out.
09 Rubi 4Dr,Compleat Heavy Duty Polly Performance skid plate system,Kilby Evap Relocation kit,Rampage front bumper,Swaybar motor flip,Clayton 3.5in lift w/steering corection kit,35in GY MTR's on 15in MB Wheels,Ace Enginering Rear Bumper W/Tire carrier,Prorock D44 Front axel,5.13s,cromo rear shafts

Offline Bill3753

• Honorary Member
  • Rock Crawler
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2011, 03:03:16 AM »