Author Topic: A/C repair  (Read 1638 times)

Offline rocket

• Trail Master
  • That is what i call, "Flexing"
    • my webshots photo site - lots of wheeling pics!
A/C repair
« on: June 11, 2011, 04:22:34 PM »
The compressor in my Jetta is shot; and I would like to know if anyone has an idea of a good shop for A/C work?  Or if anyone has the tools/experience to do the freon work.  Swaping the compressor isn't that hard, but I've never done A/C work before.
1973 Chevy El Camino: 383 sb, lots of power
2004 Toyota Tacoma TRD 3.4L xtra cab 2.5" skyjacker coilovers/leafs, 32x11.5-15" Super Swamper TSL/SXs, Bent-up front bumper, smittybilt winch, 4xInovations sliders, Bud-built skids, custom rear bumper/light bar, hella lights, "custom" body work

Offline Mr Rock

• Administrator
  • Trail Master
Re: A/C repair
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2011, 09:20:19 PM »
Was the refrigerant already converted to 135a? if your system was not left open for a long time and it didn't get to contaminated, you can buy a filter dryer when you change it out the compressor and they sell a kit that gives you the gauge an a couple of bottles of 134a to charge it back up.
I've had luck doing this.
'89, 4.2, NUTTERED, Team Rush, 4" Lift, 1" BL, 1" MML & HD shackles , Flat Belly Skid, SYE, 36 x 13.50s
XRC8, 150w KC's, Herculined, Tauras Elec Fan, Dual Batteries, Aussie in front, 8.8, TJ flares & Spool in rear, topless all of the time!

Offline skibum

• Paid Members
  • Trail Master
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2011, 02:00:36 AM »